With an area of 2,381,741 square kilometers (919,595 sq. mi), Algeria is the tenth-largest country in the world, and the largest in Africa and the Arab world. Algeria is bordered to the northeast by Tunisia, to the east by Libya, to the west by Morocco, to the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, to the southeast by Niger, and to the north by the Mediterranean Sea. It is classified as an upper middle income country by the World Bank.

Capital City: Algiers

Population: 40.4 million

Official Language: Arabic

Currency: Dinar