The name "Senegal" comes from the Wolof "Sunuu Gaal," which means "Our Boat." It covers a land area of almost 197,000 square kilometers (76,000 sq. mi). Senegal is located in West Africa and is bordered by the North African country of Mauritania in the north, Mali to the east, Guinea to the southeast, and Guinea-Bissau to the southwest. The main industries include food processing, mining, cement, artificial fertilizer, chemicals, textiles, refining imported petroleum, and tourism.

Capital City: Dakar

Population: 13.5 million

Official Language: French